Board Members

Juanita Hopkins

Board President


Juanita Hopkins is a Talbot County native and Easton High School graduate. Her son graduated from Easton High School in 2006.

She has been president of the Easton High School Alumni Association, on the board of directors of the ACE Mentor program and a past president of the Easton High School Support Our Sports organization. She has been very active in the Maryland Association of Boards of Education.

She earned her bachelor’s degree from Virginia Commonwealth University and taught elementary physical education in Richmond, VA for several years. She then earned her law degree from the University of Baltimore School of Law. She has a limited, home-based law practice, and also works in Annapolis in the hospitality industry. She resides in Easton.

Michael Garman

Board Vice President


Michael Garman is a native of West Virginia but he has lived in Maryland since 2002.  In 2003 while serving at Fort Meade, Michael and his family moved to Easton.  He retired from the army in 2008 with 21 years of service as a Russian, and Pashto linguist.  Michael is very active with the Maryland Association of Boards of Education. Michael has a B.S. in Organizational Leadership and Management from Regent University and a Project Management Professional (PMP) certification from the Project Management Institute (PMI). Michael is an avid hunter and fly fisher.

Michael and his wife Melissa have been married for 16 years and each has one son from a previous marriage as well as one grandson and granddaughter.


Otis Sampson

Board Member


Otis Sampson has been active in the community with youth outreach since his time with the Boy Scouts. He has been active in the Kiwanis Club, the Westside and East End neighborhood associations, Talbot County Park Board, Habitat for Humanity, the Talbot County branch of the NAACP, Talbot County Commission on Aging, and CASA of Talbot County, among others. He is currently acting President of the Talbot County NAACP.

He and is wife Deborah live in Easton. They have four children and four grandchildren, all of whom attended Talbot County Public Schools.


 Emily Jackson

Board Member


Mrs. Jackson is a resident of Wye Mills. A mother of four, her school-aged children currently attend Talbot County Public Schools.  She is an established professional family and newborn photographer with a studio on the Eastern Shore. Her aspiration and enthusiasm for civic responsibility and leadership began early in her life at Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts. She has worked on Capitol Hill, for the American Public Works Association, for the University of Maryland, and a variety of grassroots philanthropic organizations in fundraising and development. 

Susan Delean-Botkin

Board Member


Susan Delean-Botkin, a family nurse practitioner with AAMG Family Care of Easton, has been a health care professional in Talbot County for 20 years. She has been a resident of the Eastern Shore since 1991, and currently resides in Oxford Maryland.

She is actively involved in the local and regional community and in several professional organizations. An avid sailor, she also finds time for cycling, skiing, hiking, and dancing.

Mrs. Delean-Botkin is married, has one son, two step sons, one step daughter and six grandchildren.


Mary Wheeler

Board Member


Mrs. Wheeler, is a customer service representative with Easton Utilities Commission, and resides in Easton with her husband Wayne. They have three children and five grandchildren. Her daughter teaches 5th grade for Caroline County Public Schools and her youngest grandchild will be attending Talbot County Public Schools in St. Michaels.

She is a dedicated public servant and has been actively involved in the local community and in several organizations. Mrs. Wheeler served on the Board of Directors for the Waterfowl Festival, The Talbot County Chamber of Commerce and the Talbot Family Network. She was also a past member of the Chesapeake Women's Network, the Rotary Club of Easton and the VFW Auxiliary.


 April Motovidlak

Board Member


April Motovidlak is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner at the University of Maryland Shore Health System at Easton.  She and her husband, John, are Tilghman Island natives, and graduates of St. Michaels High School.  They reside in Wittman with their two daughters, Macy and Myka, who attend St. Michaels Middle High School.

She is actively involved in the schools and local community.  Mrs. Motovidlak served as president of the PTO for several years at Tilghman Elementary School and currently coaches both girls’ field hockey and lacrosse.   



EHS student Board member Zoe Pochron

Zoe Pochron

Student Board Member: Easton High School


SMH student board member Hannah Seek

Hannah Seek

Student Board Member: St. Michaels Middle High School