Powerschool | My School Bucks


Megan Beaufait

Katie Fox

Karen Hopkins

Anne Miller

Joanna Morris

Jennifer Wedin

Each year, Talbot County Public Schools honors teachers who represent the best in the profession through the Teacher of the Year Program. This provides the opportunity to recognize outstanding teachers who have innovative ideas and focus positive attention on education. To qualify for nomination, teachers must meet the following criterion:

  • Hold state certification in area (s) of assignment, prekindergarten through grade 12;
  • Be a current full-time classroom teacher as defined by a teaching contract, to include librarians, specialists, intervention teachers, ESL teachers, gifted education teachers, and special education teachers;
  • Have a minimum of five years of teaching experience;
  • Be planning to continue in an active teaching status for at least one year; and
  • Submit a professional resume that addresses the following: Education, Certifications, Experience, Leadership and Awards/Other Recognition.

For the first time this year, any member of the community could nominate teachers for this prestigious award. Six finalists were selected from the nominations. TCPS is pleased to recognize these outstanding educators along with some of their achievements and contributions.

Megan Beaufait, has been a Social Studies teacher at Easton High School since 2002, having also taught at Easton Middle from1999 - 2002. She holds Bachelor of Science degrees in Secondary Social Studies Education and Political Science and Interdisciplinary Law from the California University of Pennsylvania and the Indiana University of Pennsylvania respectively. She has served as Social Studies Department Chair, Core School Improvement Committee Member, New Teacher Mentor, Student Government Advisor, Interact Advisor, and Assistant Swim Coach. She is certified to teach Advanced Placement United States Government.

Katie Fox teaches Kindergarten at Tilghman Elementary School. She holds a B.A. in Elementary Education from the University of Michigan, earned Early Childhood Teacher Education Certification from the University of Puget Sound, and an M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction with an emphasis in Reading from Grand Canyon University. She serves on the Gifted and Talented Advisory Committee, the Early Childhood Report Card Committee, Courageous Conversations – CARE Team, and Leads the Primary Talent Development Team. She is on the Board of Directors of the Tilghman Area Youth Association, is a Tilghman After School Club – Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) teacher, and is on the Midshore Reading Council.

Karen Hopkins is a Special Education Teacher at St. Michaels Middle/High School. She has a Bachelors in Special Education from High Point University, an M.S. in Severe Disabilities with an emphasis in Autism from Johns Hopkins University and a Graduate Certificate in Autism. She has developed and implemented Individualized Education Plans, participated in developing and implementing Alternative Maryland State Assessments, and has been trained in several additional teaching tools and strategies. She serves on the Faculty Advisory Committee, has coached Special Olympics athletes, and is the Senior Class advisor.

Anne Miller is currently a Special Education teacher at Easton Elementary Dobson, having spent 10 years prior at St. Michaels Elementary. She earned her B.A. from Notre Dame of Maryland University, and a Master’s in General Special Education with a concentration in Autism and Severe and Profound Disabilities from Johns Hopkins University. She is a member of Kappa Delta PI, an educational honor society, and the Special Education Citizens Advisory Committee (SECAC). She is also an Adjunct Professor at Chesapeake College, teaching Introduction to Special Education. She on the Exceptional Sports Event Committee and teaches Sunday School at Talbot Bible Church.

Joanna Morris teaches fourth grade at Easton Elementary Moton. She earned her B.A. in Elementary Education, with a Minor in English for Speakers of Other Languages from Salisbury University, and a M.Ed. in Differentiation from LaSalle University. She is a member of the Discovery Education Digital Leadership Team, has participated in writing curriculum for Science, Language Arts and Mathematics, and has received additional training in various curriculum topics. She is a member of the EES Yearbook Committee, is a Mentor Teacher, and a Destination Imagination Coach.

Jennifer Wedin teaches Kindergarten at Easton Elementary-Dobson, having also taught second grade at Easton Elementary-Moton. She earned a B.A. in Elementary Education from the College of New Rochelle, New York and is pursuing a M.Ed. from La Salle University. She is the Kindergarten Team Leader, a Learning Party Facilitator (helping families prepare early childhood students for school success) and a member of the TCPS Discovery Education Digital Leader Corps.