Powerschool | My School Bucks

Talbot County Board of Education

Michael Garman

Board President


Michael Garman is a native of West Virginia, but he has lived in Maryland since 2002. In 2003, while serving at Fort Meade, Michael and his family moved to Easton. He retired from the U.S. Army in 2008 with 21 years of service as a Russian and Pashto linguist. Michael currently works as a program manager and principal training specialist for the KEYW Corporation in Hanover, MD. He has a B.S. in Organizational Leadership and Management from Regent University.

Michael and his wife Melissa have been married for 13 years and each has one son from a previous marriage, as well as one grandson.

Sandy Kleppinger

Board Vice President


Mrs. Kleppinger studied Elementary Education and earned a Masters in Education from Salisbury State College. She taught in Caroline County for 8 years, and worked as an education consultant and manager of education products and curriculum development.

Sandy and her husband graduated from Easton High. They have two sons who graduated from Saint Michaels Middle/High.

Sandy brings a powerful and unique perspective to the Board of Education. As an active parent and community member, she understands the TCPS culture and community.

Greg Criniti

Board Member


Greg has a background in engineering and education. He worked as an engineer for 20 years before deciding to become a teacher. He taught physics and electronics for six years in the Talbot County Public school system, and he currently teaches for Anne Arundel County Public Schools.

He and his wife Diane live in Easton and have six children together, four of them grown.

David Short

Board Member


Mr. Short, the managing partner of Weaver, Mavity, Short Associates, LLC, an accounting firm in Easton. He resides with his family in Trappe and has a daughter who attends Talbot County Public Schools. He has been very active in the White Marsh Elementary PTO as well as serving as a Character Counts coach at local schools.

Juanita Hopkins

Board Member


Juanita is a Talbot County native and Easton High School graduate. Her son graduated from Easton High School in 2006.

She has been president of the Easton High School Alumni Association, on the board of directors of the ACE Mentor program and a past president of the Easton High School Support Our Sports organization. She has been very active in the Maryland Association of Boards of Education.

She earned her bachelor’s degree from Virginia Commonwealth University and taught elementary physical education in Richmond, VA for several years. She then earned her law degree from the University of Baltimore School of Law. She has a limited, home-based law practice, and also works in Annapolis in the hospitality industry. She resides in Easton.

Susie Hayward

Board Member


Susie Hayward, of Cordova, is a lifelong resident of Maryland and she works with Benson and Mangold Real Estate. Her interests include horseback riding, woodworking, reading and community volunteering. Hayward has seven grandchildren, one of whom attends Talbot County Public Schools.

Otis Sampson

Board Member


Mr. Sampson has been active in the community with youth outreach since his time with the Boy Scouts. He has been active in the Kiwanis Club, the Westside and East End neighborhood associations, Talbot County Park Board, Habitat for Humanity, the Talbot County branch of the NAACP, Talbot County Commission on Aging, and CASA of Talbot County, among others. He is currently acting President of the Talbot County NAACP.

He and is wife Deborah live in Easton. They have four children and four grandchildren, all of which attended Talbot County Public Schools..